Free AI receptionists and answering services
Only one free AI receptionist plan is stated among the 35 receptionists and answering services listed: AI Receptionist from Smith.ai. 18 more offer a free trial, from 3 to 30 days where stated.
Which tools are on this list?
Every tool on the AI receptionists and AI answering services lists whose vendor's own page states a free plan or a free trial, in two groups: free plans first, then free trials, longest stated trial first. A trial is never counted as free. How we choose and check AI tools.
Which AI receptionists have a free plan?
AI Receptionist from Smith.ai. Its own page lists: “Free Try it and trust it first. $0 mo 25 calls/mo ($3.00/call after that)”. Check the plan's limits before you rely on it.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI ReceptionistGo to Smith.ai | From $150 per month | Free plan | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
Which offer a free trial instead?
18 tools state a free trial, from 3 to 30 days; 2 don't say how long. 5 are answering services, where a company answers for you; the rest are receptionist software you set up yourself.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IONOS AI ReceptionistGo to IONOS | From $39 per month | Free trial (30 days) | GDPR | Oct 26, 2026 |
| UpfirstGo to Upfirst | From $20 per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Marlie AIGo to Marlie Ai | From $49 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| RingCentral AI ReceptionistGo to RingCentral | From $49 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Mentions HIPAA | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Go Answer AI ReceptionistGo to GoAnswer | From $95 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| DialzaraGo to Dialzara | From $29 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| RosieGo to Rosie | From $49 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Frontdesk AI ReceptionistGo to My AI Front Desk | From $79 per month, billed annually | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| NextPhoneGo to NextPhone | From $199 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| SonaGo to Quo | From $15 per user per month, billed annually | Free trial (7 days) | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 26, 2026 |
| AI ReceptionistGo to Allo | From $32 per seat per month, billed annually + $32 per agent per month (AI Receptionist) add-on | Free trial (7 days) | GDPR, Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 26, 2026 |
| AnsweringService.comGo to AnsweringService.com | From $10 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| ReceptionHQGo to ReceptionHQ | From $10 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Posh AI ReceptionistGo to Posh | From $130 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| GabbyvilleGo to Gabbyville | From $399 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| NonaCallGo to NonaCall | From $19 per month | Free trial (3 days) | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
| Zoom Virtual Agent ReceptionistGo to Zoom | From $25 per month, billed annually | Free trial | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 20, 2026 |
| CSR AIGo to Housecall Pro | Price not published | Free trial | Not stated | Oct 26, 2026 |
Questions people ask
Is there a free AI answering service?
AI Receptionist from Smith.ai states a free plan. 5 answering services offer a free trial: Go Answer AI Receptionist from GoAnswer (14 days), AnsweringService.com (7 days), ReceptionHQ (7 days), Posh AI Receptionist (7 days) and Gabbyville (7 days).
What is the difference between a free plan and a free trial?
A free plan stays free within its limits, such as a number of calls a month. A free trial ends after the days stated, then a paid plan starts or the service stops, so check whether the trial needs a card.