AI accounting software
AI accounting software adds AI to running the books and closing the month, such as coding transactions, reconciling accounts, reporting and flagging what looks wrong.
- Tools compared
- 14
- Publish a price
- 6
- Free plan or trial
- 5
About half of the AI accounting tools listed publish a price, with flat plans from $30 a month (Puzzle).
Where should you start?
If price decides it: Puzzle, from $30 per month, is the cheapest flat plan of the 14 compared. If you are setting up your first books and are happy to check the work yourself, Puzzle's Starter plan is $30 a month with the AI suite included and a 14-day free trial. The catch: Starter comes with 25 lifetime AI credits, and a bookkeeper who closes your books each month comes through the optional accounting services. Digits offers a 30-day free trial, then Essentials at $65 a month.
For a small business: QuickBooks Online from Intuit, from $38 per month, is the cheapest flat plan among the 4 whose vendors name small business. Suits an owner who wants to start keeping books for free: the Free plan is $0 a month for one user, with no credit card. Simple Start is $38 a month, at 50% off for the first 3 months. The catch: the AI tools automate bookkeeping tasks, but no done-for-you bookkeeping is stated. If you'd rather have the work done for you, Pilot AI Accountant starts at $99 a month on Essentials.
How much does an AI accounting tool cost?
Flat monthly starting prices for AI accounting tools run from $30 (Puzzle) to $65 (Digits). Two price per user, minute or other unit instead. Eight sell only through sales or a demo. Prices are as each vendor states them, never converted; the table below gives each tool's.
Compare them on price, trials, security and integrations
Filter the list, or tick up to 5 tools to compare them side by side.
Tools mainly for this job first, then those with a stated starting price (lowest monthly price first), then the most recently checked. No vendor pays for a place. How we order tools.
Filter by price, free plan or trial, who it's built for, compliance or integrations
14 tools
No tool matches all of these filters.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Karbon AIKarbon · Vendor site | From $59 per user per month, billed annually | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Ramp Accounting AutomationRamp · Vendor site | From $15 per user per month | Free plan, Free trial (30 days) | SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| BasisBasis · Vendor site | Demo only | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| DualEntryDualEntry · Vendor site | Demo only | Not stated | SOC 2 (type not stated), PCI DSS | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| TrullionTrullion · Vendor site | Demo only | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Accounting Seed AIAccounting Seed · Vendor site | Contact sales | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| FloQast AI AgentsFloQast · Vendor site | Contact sales | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| NumericNumeric · Vendor site | Demo only | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| RilletRillet · Vendor site | Demo only | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| PuzzlePuzzle · Vendor site | From $30 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| QuickBooks OnlineIntuit · Vendor site | From $38 per month | Free plan, Free trial (30 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| DigitsDigits · Vendor site | From $65 per month | Free trial (30 days) | SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| JAX (Just Ask Xero)Xero · Vendor site | Prices published, but not the plan with the AI | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| DoubleDouble · Vendor site | Contact sales | Free trial | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
Your picks side by side
Tick up to 5 tools in the comparison list to see them side by side.
| Karbon AI | Ramp Accounting Automation | Basis | DualEntry | Trullion | Accounting Seed AI | FloQast AI Agents | Numeric | Rillet | Puzzle | QuickBooks Online | Digits | JAX (Just Ask Xero) | Double | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | From $59 per user per month, billed annually (Team plan). | From $15 per user per month (Plus plan). | Demo only | Demo only | Demo only | Contact sales | Contact sales | Demo only | Demo only | From $30 per month (Starter plan). | From $38 per month (Simple Start plan). | From $65 per month (Essentials plan). | Prices published, but not the plan with the AI | Contact sales |
| Pricing model | Per seat | Per seat | Not stated by Basis | Not stated by DualEntry | Not stated by Trullion | Not stated by Accounting Seed | Not stated by FloQast | Not stated by Numeric | Not stated by Rillet | Not stated by Puzzle | Not stated by Intuit | Not stated by Digits | Not stated by Xero | Not stated by Double |
| Free plan | Not stated by Karbon | Yes | Not stated by Basis | Not stated by DualEntry | Not stated by Trullion | Not stated by Accounting Seed | Not stated by FloQast | Not stated by Numeric | Not stated by Rillet | Not stated by Puzzle | Yes | Not stated by Digits | Not stated by Xero | Not stated by Double |
| Free trial | Not stated by Karbon | Yes, 30 days | Not stated by Basis | No | Not stated by Trullion | Not stated by Accounting Seed | Not stated by FloQast | Not stated by Numeric | Not stated by Rillet | Yes, 14 days | Yes, 30 days | Yes, 30 days | Not stated by Xero | Yes |
| Built for | Accounting and bookkeeping | Small business | Accounting and bookkeeping | Not stated by DualEntry | Not stated by Trullion | Not stated by Accounting Seed | Not stated by FloQast | Not stated by Numeric | Not stated by Rillet | Accounting and bookkeeping | Small business | Small business, Accounting and bookkeeping | Small business | Accounting and bookkeeping |
| Compliance the vendor states | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR | SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 | SOC 2 (type not stated), PCI DSS | Not stated by Trullion | Not stated by Accounting Seed | Not stated by FloQast | Not stated by Numeric | Not stated by Rillet | Not stated by Puzzle | Not stated by Intuit | SOC 2 Type II | Not stated by Xero | Not stated by Double |
| Integrations it names | Not stated by Karbon | QuickBooks, Xero | Not stated by Basis | Not stated by DualEntry | Not stated by Trullion | Not stated by Accounting Seed | Not stated by FloQast | Xero | Not stated by Rillet | Not stated by Puzzle | Not stated by Intuit | Not stated by Digits | Not stated by Xero | QuickBooks, Xero |
Questions people ask
What is AI accounting software?
Accounting software with AI built in: it codes transactions, reconciles accounts, drafts reports or flags anomalies. Some is a full accounting system for a small business; some is a tool for accounting firms that sits on top of the client's system.
Is there a free AI accounting tool?
Yes: Ramp Accounting Automation and QuickBooks Online from Intuit have a free plan. Five offer a free trial, so you can test one on your own books first.
What is the best AI accounting tool for a small business?
No single AI accounting tool is best for every business: it comes down to the job and the budget. If price decides it, Puzzle has the lowest flat monthly price listed, $30 a month. To try one free, Ramp Accounting Automation and QuickBooks Online from Intuit have a free plan. No vendor pays to be listed.