AI receptionists for small business
An AI receptionist answers your business phone when you can't, takes messages, answers common questions and books appointments.
- Tools compared
- 22
- Publish a price
- 18
- Free plan or trial
- 14
Most of the AI receptionists listed publish a price, with flat plans from $19 a month (NonaCall).
Where should you start?
If price decides it: NonaCall, from $19 per month, is the cheapest flat plan of the 22 compared. Suits a small business with light call volume and a tight budget: Lite is $19 a month for 60 call minutes, and every plan has the same core features, so you only choose minutes. The catch: each extra minute costs $0.24, and the free trial is only 3 days with up to 15 call minutes. Dialzara gives a 7-day free trial, then Business Lite at $29 a month.
How much does an AI receptionist cost?
Flat monthly starting prices for AI receptionists run from $19 (NonaCall) to $199 (NextPhone). Three price per user, minute or other unit instead. Three sell only through sales or a demo. Prices are as each vendor states them, never converted; the table below gives each tool's. See AI receptionist pricing for the full figures.
Compare them on price, trials, security and integrations
Filter the list, or tick up to 5 tools to compare them side by side.
Tools mainly for this job first, then those with a stated starting price (lowest monthly price first), then the most recently checked. No vendor pays for a place. How we order tools.
Filter by price, free plan or trial, who it's built for, compliance or integrations
22 tools
No tool matches all of these filters.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NonaCallNonaCall · Vendor site | From $19 per month | Free trial (3 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| UpfirstUpfirst · Vendor site | From $20 per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Zoom Virtual Agent ReceptionistZoom · Vendor site | From $25 per month, billed annually | Free trial | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| DialzaraDialzara · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| IONOS AI ReceptionistIONOS · Vendor site | From $39 per month | Free trial (30 days) | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| RosieRosie · Vendor site | From $49 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Marlie AIMarlie Ai · Vendor site | From $49 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Trillet AI receptionistTrillet · Vendor site | From $49 per month | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| RingCentral AI ReceptionistRingCentral · Vendor site | From $49 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Mentions HIPAA | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Frontdesk AI ReceptionistMy AI Front Desk · Vendor site | From $79 per month, billed annually | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| GoodcallGoodcall · Vendor site | From $79 per month | Not stated | Signs a HIPAA BAA, SOC 2 (type not stated) | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Ringly.ioRingly · Vendor site | From $99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| AI ReceptionistSmith.ai · Vendor site | From $150 per month | Free plan | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| NextPhoneNextPhone · Vendor site | From $199 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| SonaQuo · Vendor site | From $15 per user per month, billed annually | Free trial (7 days) | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| SynthflowSynthflow AI · Vendor site | From $30,000 per year, billed annually | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II, Mentions HIPAA, PCI DSS, GDPR, ISO 27001 | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| AI ReceptionistAllo · Vendor site | From $32 per seat per month, billed annually + $32 per agent per month (AI Receptionist) add-on | Free trial (7 days) | GDPR, Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| XBert AI ReceptionistNextiva · Vendor site | From $99 per month for 100 interactions | Not stated | Mentions HIPAA | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| AI ReceptionistGoTo · Vendor site | Contact sales | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Dialpad AI AgentsDialpad · Vendor site | Contact sales | Not stated | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Ooma AI ReceptionistOoma · Vendor site | Contact sales | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| CSR AIHousecall Pro · Vendor site | Price not published | Free trial | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
Your picks side by side
Tick up to 5 tools in the comparison list to see them side by side.
Questions people ask
What does an AI receptionist do?
It answers incoming calls in your business name, answers common questions, takes messages and books appointments into your calendar. Most can transfer a call to a person, and some text you a summary of each call.
Is there a free AI receptionist?
Yes: AI Receptionist from Smith.ai has a free plan. 13 offer a free trial, so you can test one on your own calls first.
What is the best AI receptionist for a small business?
No single AI receptionist is best for every business: it comes down to the job and the budget. If price decides it, NonaCall has the lowest flat monthly price listed, $19 a month. To try one free, AI Receptionist from Smith.ai has a free plan. No vendor pays to be listed.
Which AI receptionists say they sign a HIPAA business associate agreement?
Upfirst, Zoom Virtual Agent Receptionist, Goodcall, Sona from Quo, AI Receptionist from Allo and Dialpad AI Agents say on their own pages that they sign a HIPAA business associate agreement (BAA). That is the vendor's claim; check the agreement itself before you send patient calls to any of them.