AI bookkeeping software
AI bookkeeping software categorizes transactions, matches receipts and reconciles accounts for you to review, instead of keying it all in by hand.
- Tools compared
- 20
- Publish a price
- 17
- Free plan or trial
- 11
Most of the AI bookkeeping tools listed publish a price, with flat plans from $12 a month (ReceiptsAI).
Where should you start?
If price decides it: ReceiptsAI, from $12 per month, billed annually, is the cheapest flat plan of the 20 compared. Suits a freelancer who wants receipts handled for very little: the free plan needs no credit card, and Starter is $12 a month, billed $144 annually. Accountants can run each client's books separately from one dashboard. The catch: no accounting software integration is stated, though records can be exported. Dext integrates with QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage and Zoho, at $25.21 a month, billed $302.50 annually, with a 14-day free trial.
How much does an AI bookkeeping tool cost?
Flat monthly starting prices for AI bookkeeping tools run from $12 (ReceiptsAI) to $494 (Zeni). Four price per user, minute or other unit instead. Three sell only through sales or a demo. Prices are as each vendor states them, never converted; the table below gives each tool's.
Compare them on price, trials, security and integrations
Filter the list, or tick up to 5 tools to compare them side by side.
Tools mainly for this job first, then those with a stated starting price (lowest monthly price first), then the most recently checked. No vendor pays for a place. How we order tools.
Filter by price, free plan or trial, who it's built for, compliance or integrations
20 tools
No tool matches all of these filters.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DextDext · Vendor site | From $25.21 per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | ISO 27001, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| BooksGPTBooksGPT · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Paula AIBookkeeping.ai · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free plan, Free trial (30 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| InkleInkle · Vendor site | From $30 per month | Free plan | SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| PuzzlePuzzle · Vendor site | From $30 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| QuickBooks OnlineIntuit · Vendor site | From $38 per month | Free plan, Free trial (30 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| FincentFincent · Vendor site | From $55 per month, billed annually | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| DigitsDigits · Vendor site | From $65 per month | Free trial (30 days) | SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Pilot AI AccountantPilot · Vendor site | From $99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| FinaloopFinaloop · Vendor site | From $245 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| ZeniZeni · Vendor site | From $494 per month, billed annually | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| DocytDocyt · Vendor site | From $299 per property per month, billed annually | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| HelloBooksHelloBooks · Vendor site | From $14.99 per entity per month | Free plan | SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| BotkeeperBotkeeper · Vendor site | From $53 per license per month, billed annually | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| Booke AIBooke AI · Vendor site | From $129 per business per month | Not stated | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| JAX (Just Ask Xero)Xero · Vendor site | Prices published, but not the plan with the AI | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| DoubleDouble · Vendor site | Contact sales | Free trial | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| TruewindTruewind · Vendor site | Demo only | Not stated | SOC 2 (type not stated) | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| ReceiptsAIReceiptsAI · Vendor site | From $12 per month, billed annually | Free plan | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 | |
| BasisBasis · Vendor site | Demo only | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 | Oct 17, 2026 |
Your picks side by side
Tick up to 5 tools in the comparison list to see them side by side.
| Dext | BooksGPT | Paula AI | Inkle | Puzzle | QuickBooks Online | Fincent | Digits | Pilot AI Accountant | Finaloop | Zeni | Docyt | HelloBooks | Botkeeper | Booke AI | JAX (Just Ask Xero) | Double | Truewind | ReceiptsAI | Basis | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | From $25.21 per month, billed annually. | From $29 per month, billed monthly (Solo plan). | From $29 per month. | From $30 per month, billed monthly (Standard plan). | From $30 per month (Starter plan). | From $38 per month (Simple Start plan). | From $55 per month, billed annually (Basic Plan). | From $65 per month (Essentials plan). | From $99 per month (Essentials plan). | From $245 per month (Starter plan). | From $494 per month, billed annually (Starter plan). | From $299 per property per month, billed annually (Accounting Suite plan). | From $14.99 per entity per month, billed monthly (Starter plan). | From $53 per license per month, billed annually (25+ Licenses plan). | From $129 per business per month (AI Bookkeeper (Business) plan). | Prices published, but not the plan with the AI | Contact sales | Demo only | From $12 per month, billed annually (Starter plan). | Demo only |
| Pricing model | Not stated by Dext | Not stated by BooksGPT | Not stated by Bookkeeping.ai | Not stated by Inkle | Not stated by Puzzle | Not stated by Intuit | Not stated by Fincent | Not stated by Digits | Not stated by Pilot | Not stated by Finaloop | Not stated by Zeni | Not stated by Docyt | Not stated by HelloBooks | Not stated by Botkeeper | Flat fee | Not stated by Xero | Not stated by Double | Not stated by Truewind | Not stated by ReceiptsAI | Not stated by Basis |
| Free plan | Not stated by Dext | Not stated by BooksGPT | Yes | Yes | Not stated by Puzzle | Yes | Not stated by Fincent | Not stated by Digits | Not stated by Pilot | Not stated by Finaloop | Not stated by Zeni | Not stated by Docyt | Yes | Not stated by Botkeeper | Not stated by Booke AI | Not stated by Xero | Not stated by Double | Not stated by Truewind | Yes | Not stated by Basis |
| Free trial | Yes, 14 days | Yes, 7 days | Yes, 30 days | Not stated by Inkle | Yes, 14 days | Yes, 30 days | Not stated by Fincent | Yes, 30 days | Not stated by Pilot | Yes, 14 days | Not stated by Zeni | Not stated by Docyt | Not stated by HelloBooks | No | Not stated by Booke AI | Not stated by Xero | Yes | Not stated by Truewind | Not stated by ReceiptsAI | Not stated by Basis |
| Built for | Accounting and bookkeeping, Small business | Not stated by BooksGPT | Not stated by Bookkeeping.ai | Small business | Accounting and bookkeeping | Small business | Small business | Small business, Accounting and bookkeeping | Small business | Not stated by Finaloop | Not stated by Zeni | Not stated by Docyt | Small business | Accounting and bookkeeping | Accounting and bookkeeping, Small business | Small business | Accounting and bookkeeping | Not stated by Truewind | Small business, Accounting and bookkeeping | Accounting and bookkeeping |
| Compliance the vendor states | ISO 27001, GDPR | Not stated by BooksGPT | Not stated by Bookkeeping.ai | SOC 2 Type II | Not stated by Puzzle | Not stated by Intuit | Not stated by Fincent | SOC 2 Type II | Not stated by Pilot | Not stated by Finaloop | SOC 2 Type II | SOC 2 Type II | SOC 2 Type II | SOC 2 Type II | GDPR | Not stated by Xero | Not stated by Double | SOC 2 (type not stated) | GDPR | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 |
| Integrations it names | QuickBooks, Xero | Not stated by BooksGPT | Not stated by Bookkeeping.ai | Not stated by Inkle | Not stated by Puzzle | Not stated by Intuit | QuickBooks | Not stated by Digits | QuickBooks | Not stated by Finaloop | QuickBooks | Not stated by Docyt | Not stated by HelloBooks | Not stated by Botkeeper | QuickBooks, Xero | Not stated by Xero | QuickBooks, Xero | Not stated by Truewind | Not stated by ReceiptsAI | Not stated by Basis |
Questions people ask
Can AI do my bookkeeping?
It can do much of the routine work: categorizing bank transactions, matching receipts and reconciling accounts. Someone still needs to review the books, fix what the software gets wrong and handle anything unusual.
Is there a free AI bookkeeping tool?
Yes: Paula AI from Bookkeeping.ai, Inkle, QuickBooks Online from Intuit, HelloBooks and ReceiptsAI have a free plan. Eight offer a free trial, so you can test one on your own books first.
What is the best AI bookkeeping tool for a small business?
No single AI bookkeeping tool is best for every business: it comes down to the job and the budget. If price decides it, ReceiptsAI has the lowest flat monthly price listed, $12 a month. To try one free, Paula AI from Bookkeeping.ai, Inkle, QuickBooks Online from Intuit and 2 others have a free plan. No vendor pays to be listed.