AI tools for small business
AI tools for small business to start with: NonaCall for answering calls ($19 a month) or ReceiptsAI for bookkeeping ($12 a month, billed annually).
Which AI receptionist should a small business try first?
Start with NonaCall, from $19 per month: the lowest flat monthly price of the 22 AI receptionists compared. Suits a small business with light call volume and a tight budget: Lite is $19 a month for 60 call minutes, and every plan has the same core features, so you only choose minutes. The catch: each extra minute costs $0.24, and the free trial is only 3 days with up to 15 call minutes. Dialzara gives a 7-day free trial, then Business Lite at $29 a month.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NonaCallNonaCall · Vendor site | From $19 per month | Free trial (3 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| UpfirstUpfirst · Vendor site | From $20 per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 17, 2026 |
Which answering service puts AI on your calls?
Ambs Call Center AI Receptionist is the one to try first, from $19 per month: no flat plan among the 9 AI answering services costs less. If you run an HVAC or landscaping business and want a low entry price, Starter is $19 a month, and the hybrid option lets a live agent step in on calls the AI shouldn't handle alone. The catch: AI minutes cost $0.79 each on top of that base fee, and there is no free trial. Go Answer AI Receptionist has a 14-day free trial, with AI Receptionist 100 at $95 a month, billed monthly, for 100 minutes.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ambs Call Center AI ReceptionistAmbs Call Center · Vendor site | From $19 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| MoneypennyMoneypenny · Vendor site | From $69 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
Which voice agent platform can you start on cheaply?
Try ElevenAgents from ElevenLabs first, from $6 per month: the cheapest flat plan of the 20 AI voice agents listed. If you want to try a voice agent before spending anything, the free plan includes 15 minutes of calls, and Starter is $6 per month after that. The catch: plans are billed by call minutes, so cost grows with volume, and the HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and BAA terms sit under the enterprise offer. Retell AI is pay as you go, at $0.07-$0.31 a minute for AI voice agents.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ElevenAgentsElevenLabs · Vendor site | From $6 per month | Free plan | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, PCI DSS, Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 17, 2026 |
| DaptaDapta · Vendor site | From $99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
What AI can answer your customers' questions?
Start with Chatling, from $21 per month, billed annually: the lowest flat monthly price of the 20 AI customer service tools compared. Suits a small shop or service business that wants to start free and keep costs low later: the free plan gives 200 AI credits, and Starter is $21 a month billed $250 annually. The catch: usage runs on AI credits, with 1,750 on Starter, and no trial of paid plans is stated. Lyro AI Agent from Tidio also has a free plan, and paid use starts at $32.50 a month from 50 Lyro AI conversations.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatlingChatling · Vendor site | From $21 per month, billed annually | Free plan | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| ChatbaseChatbase · Vendor site | From $32 per month, billed annually | Free trial (7 days) | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, Mentions HIPAA | Oct 17, 2026 |
Which AI bookkeeping tool should you start with?
ReceiptsAI is the one to try first, from $12 per month, billed annually: no flat plan among the 20 AI bookkeeping tools costs less. Suits a freelancer who wants receipts handled for very little: the free plan needs no credit card, and Starter is $12 a month, billed $144 annually. Accountants can run each client's books separately from one dashboard. The catch: no accounting software integration is stated, though records can be exported. Dext integrates with QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage and Zoho, at $25.21 a month, billed $302.50 annually, with a 14-day free trial.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiptsAIReceiptsAI · Vendor site | From $12 per month, billed annually | Free plan | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| DextDext · Vendor site | From $25.21 per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | ISO 27001, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
Which accounting software has AI built in?
Try Puzzle first, from $30 per month: the cheapest flat plan of the 14 AI accounting tools listed. If you are setting up your first books and are happy to check the work yourself, Puzzle's Starter plan is $30 a month with the AI suite included and a 14-day free trial. The catch: Starter comes with 25 lifetime AI credits, and a bookkeeper who closes your books each month comes through the optional accounting services. Digits offers a 30-day free trial, then Essentials at $65 a month.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PuzzlePuzzle · Vendor site | From $30 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Karbon AIKarbon · Vendor site | From $59 per user per month, billed annually | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
What AI reads your bills and receipts?
Start with SparkReceipt, from $5.75 per month, billed annually: the lowest flat monthly price of the 21 AI invoice processing tools compared. If you're self-employed and want receipts sorted for very little, Pro is $5.75 a month billed annually ($69.00 a year), or $6.90 billed monthly. It also links to Zapier and Make. The catch: no free plan is stated, and the free trial lasts 7 days. ReceiptsAI has a free plan, and its Starter plan is $12 a month, billed $144 annually.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SparkReceiptSparkReceipt · Vendor site | From $5.75 per month, billed annually | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| ReceiptsAIReceiptsAI · Vendor site | From $12 per month, billed annually | Free plan | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
Which AI tool helps with tax prep?
CPA Pilot is the one to try first, from $29 per month: no flat plan among the 17 AI tax tools costs less. If you are a solo preparer who wants AI help without paying per seat, CPA Pilot bills by messages, and every plan includes every workflow. The 7-day free trial comes with 20 messages. The catch: CPA Pilot 20, at $29 a month, includes 20 AI messages, which tax season can use up fast. For research alone, Bizora's Essential plan is $29.99 a month.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CPA PilotCPA Pilot · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| BizoraBizora · Vendor site | From $29.99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
Which AI tool writes a job estimate?
Try AI Estimate from Joist first, from $8.34 per month, billed annually: the cheapest flat plan of the 18 AI estimating tools listed. If you price occasional jobs or are just starting out, AI Estimate comes with Joist Basics at $8.34 a month, billed annually. Joist also lists QuickBooks sync. The catch: Joist has no free plan, so you pay once the 14-day free trial ends. QuoteIQ AI Estimator has Essentials, for solo operators getting started, at $29.99 a month, billed monthly, with a 14-day free trial.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI EstimateJoist · Vendor site | From $8.34 per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| QuoteIQ AI EstimatorQuoteIQ · Vendor site | From $29.99 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
Which AI tool does takeoffs from plans?
Start with Civils.ai, from $90 per month: the lowest flat monthly price of the 18 AI takeoff tools compared. Suits a civil or groundworks contractor trying AI takeoff on a first project: Starter is $90 a month, billed monthly for a single user, and you can cancel anytime. The catch: no free trial is stated, and no estimating features are stated, only measured quantities. Kreo also does estimating: Essential is $100 per user a month, billed annually, Pro with AI features is $175, and a 7-day free trial is offered.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Civils.aiCivils.ai · Vendor site | From $90 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Mirage MetricsMirage Metrics · Vendor site | From $1,000 per month, billed annually | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
Which field service software uses AI?
ServiceM8 is the one to try first, from $29 per month: no flat plan among the 14 AI field service tools costs less. Suits a one-person trade business starting out: the free plan covers 1 user and 30 jobs a month with AI Smart Helpers, and Starter is $29 a month for unlimited users and 50 jobs. It syncs with Xero, QuickBooks Online and MYOB. The catch: the AI tools work inside ServiceM8's job management, and Starter caps you at 50 jobs a month. QuoteIQ AI Estimator is $29.99 a month on Essentials, billed monthly.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8ServiceM8 · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free plan, Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| GorillaDesk AI AgentsGorillaDesk · Vendor site | From $49 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
What are the best AI tools for small business?
Plainscout starts each job with the tool that has the lowest flat monthly price in its list: NonaCall for answering calls ($19 a month), Ambs Call Center AI Receptionist for answering services ($19 a month), ElevenAgents from ElevenLabs for voice agents ($6 a month), Chatling for customer support ($21 a month, billed annually), ReceiptsAI for bookkeeping ($12 a month, billed annually), Puzzle for accounting software ($30 a month), SparkReceipt for invoice processing ($5.75 a month, billed annually), CPA Pilot for tax preparation ($29 a month), AI Estimate from Joist for estimating ($8.34 a month, billed annually), Civils.ai for takeoff ($90 a month) and ServiceM8 for field service ($29 a month). No vendor pays for a place, and the right one still depends on your job.
How were these tools picked?
In each job, the pick is the tool with the lowest flat monthly price in that job's full list (a free plan, or a tool made mainly for the job, when none states one). Its table adds the next tool in the list's order: tools mainly for this job first, then those with a stated starting price (lowest monthly price first), then the most recently checked. No vendor pays for a place. How we order tools.