AI Receptionist (Smith.ai) pricing and alternatives
Paid plans for AI Receptionist start at $150 per month, billed monthly (Pro plan). There's a free plan.
What does AI Receptionist do?
AI Receptionist from Smith.ai answers calls 24/7, qualifies leads and books appointments. It routes calls too: they go to the AI first and can be transferred to a live North America-based receptionist when something complex comes up. A free plan covers 25 calls a month, and paid plans bill per call.
What else should you know about AI Receptionist?
AI Receptionist is priced per call. Smith.ai says calls are answered by AI and people. Smith.ai doesn't state any security or compliance standard.
| Fact | As stated | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Price | From $150 per month, billed monthly (Pro plan). | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Pricing model | Per call | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Free plan | Yes | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Who answers | AI and people | Oct 17, 2026 |
Who is AI Receptionist for, and what's the catch?
Suits a quiet office that wants to test AI answering before paying: the free plan's 25 calls a month cost nothing, then $3.00 a call. It runs month to month.
The catch: per-call billing grows with volume, and Pro is $150 a month (shown as $2.00 a call). Rosie, an AI-only receptionist, has a Professional plan at $49 a month with a 7-day free trial.
What are the alternatives to AI Receptionist?
Other AI receptionists to compare with AI Receptionist are NonaCall (from $19 per month), Upfirst (from $20 per month, billed annually) and Zoom Virtual Agent Receptionist (from $25 per month, billed annually).
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NonaCallNonaCall · Vendor site | From $19 per month | Free trial (3 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| UpfirstUpfirst · Vendor site | From $20 per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Zoom Virtual Agent ReceptionistZoom · Vendor site | From $25 per month, billed annually | Free trial | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 17, 2026 |
| DialzaraDialzara · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| IONOS AI ReceptionistIONOS · Vendor site | From $39 per month | Free trial (30 days) | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |