Basis pricing and alternatives
Basis doesn't publish a price: you book a demo first. Basis doesn't state a free plan or trial.
What does Basis do?
Basis is a set of AI agents built for accountants and accounting firms. They run the month-end close for each client, prepare the whole tax return from client intake to review-ready workpapers, and run audit testing with cited evidence, so staff start at review. Every agent action is logged and auditable.
What else should you know about Basis?
Basis says it serves accounting and bookkeeping. Basis cites SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.
| Fact | As stated | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Demo only | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Built for | Accounting and bookkeeping | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Compliance the vendor states | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 | Oct 17, 2026 |
Who is Basis for, and what's the catch?
Suits a firm that spends close and tax season on preparation and would rather have staff start at review. Basis says it is SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certified, which helps when clients ask about security.
The catch: Basis shows no prices, only a demo or a waitlist, so you can't compare cost up front. Karbon AI lists its Team plan at $59 per user a month, paid annually.
What are the alternatives to Basis?
Other AI accounting software to compare with Basis are Karbon AI (from $59 per user per month, billed annually), Ramp Accounting Automation (from $15 per user per month) and DualEntry (demo only).
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Karbon AIKarbon · Vendor site | From $59 per user per month, billed annually | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Ramp Accounting AutomationRamp · Vendor site | From $15 per user per month | Free plan, Free trial (30 days) | SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS | Oct 17, 2026 |
| DualEntryDualEntry · Vendor site | Demo only | Not stated | SOC 2 (type not stated), PCI DSS | Oct 17, 2026 |
| TrullionTrullion · Vendor site | Demo only | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Accounting Seed AIAccounting Seed · Vendor site | Contact sales | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |