BooksGPT pricing and alternatives
BooksGPT starts at $29 per month, billed monthly (Solo plan). There's a 7-day free trial.
What does BooksGPT do?
BooksGPT is bookkeeping software with AI assistance included on every plan. It takes in CSV and Excel files, suggests a category for each transaction for the owner to approve, matches transfers, reconciles statements and drafts invoices from one sentence. It also connects directly to QuickBooks Online.
What else should you know about BooksGPT?
BooksGPT doesn't state any security or compliance standard.
| Fact | As stated | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Price | From $29 per month, billed monthly (Solo plan). | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Free trial | Yes, 7 days | Oct 17, 2026 |
Who is BooksGPT for, and what's the catch?
Suits a freelancer or owner who keeps their own books and wants to stay in control, since nothing is categorized until you approve it. Solo is $29 a month, billed monthly.
The catch: the 7-day trial needs a card, no free plan is stated, and moving across means changing software, though BooksGPT connects directly to QuickBooks Online. HelloBooks has a free plan with no credit card and no time limit.
What are the alternatives to BooksGPT?
Other AI bookkeeping software to compare with BooksGPT are Dext (from $25.21 per month, billed annually), Paula AI (from $29 per month) and Inkle (from $30 per month).
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DextDext · Vendor site | From $25.21 per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | ISO 27001, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Paula AIBookkeeping.ai · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free plan, Free trial (30 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| InkleInkle · Vendor site | From $30 per month | Free plan | SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 |
| PuzzlePuzzle · Vendor site | From $30 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| QuickBooks OnlineIntuit · Vendor site | From $38 per month | Free plan, Free trial (30 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |