Intuit QuickBooks Online pricing and alternatives
Paid plans for QuickBooks Online start at $38 per month (Simple Start plan). There's a free plan and a 30-day free trial.
What does QuickBooks Online do?
QuickBooks Online is accounting software with built-in AI. Accounting AI automates workflows to keep books up to date, and QuickBooks learns how income and expenses are categorized, then matches and records transactions. Other AI tools suggest tax savings and propose invoice reminders.
What else should you know about QuickBooks Online?
Intuit says QuickBooks Online serves small business. Intuit doesn't state any security or compliance standard.
| Fact | As stated | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Price | From $38 per month (Simple Start plan). | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Free plan | Yes | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Free trial | Yes, 30 days | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Built for | Small business | Oct 17, 2026 |
Who is QuickBooks Online for, and what's the catch?
Suits an owner who wants to start keeping books for free: the Free plan is $0 a month for one user, with no credit card. Simple Start is $38 a month, at 50% off for the first 3 months.
The catch: the AI tools automate bookkeeping tasks, but no done-for-you bookkeeping is stated. If you'd rather have the work done for you, Pilot AI Accountant starts at $99 a month on Essentials.
What are the alternatives to QuickBooks Online?
Other AI bookkeeping software to compare with QuickBooks Online are Dext (from $25.21 per month, billed annually), BooksGPT (from $29 per month) and Paula AI (from $29 per month).
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DextDext · Vendor site | From $25.21 per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | ISO 27001, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| BooksGPTBooksGPT · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Paula AIBookkeeping.ai · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free plan, Free trial (30 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| InkleInkle · Vendor site | From $30 per month | Free plan | SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 |
| PuzzlePuzzle · Vendor site | From $30 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |