AI agents for customer service
AI agents for customer service answer customer questions in chat, email or on the phone from your own help content, and hand harder cases to a person.
Prices start at $19 per user per month (Text AI Agent); the lowest plan price is $21 a month, billed annually (Chatling).
Where should you start?
If you want to try one without a big monthly bill, start with Chatling: at $21 per month, billed annually, it has the lowest whole-plan price of the 19 listed (per-seat and per-minute prices aside). Suits a small shop or service business that wants to start free and keep costs low later: the free plan gives 200 AI credits, and Starter is $21 a month billed $250 annually. The catch: usage runs on AI credits, with 1,750 on Starter, and no trial of paid plans is stated. Lyro AI Agent from Tidio also has a free plan, and paid use starts at $32.50 a month from 50 Lyro AI conversations.
What is an AI customer service agent?
Software that handles a customer conversation by itself: it reads the question, answers from your help articles and past replies and, where it is connected to your systems, does simple tasks such as checking an order. A chatbot that only follows a script isn't an agent. A useful agent also knows when to pass the customer to a person, with the conversation so far.
How are AI customer service agents priced?
AI customer service agents are priced per seat, by use or as a monthly plan, and each adds up differently. Per seat: Text AI Agent, eDesk, Zendesk AI agents, Agentforce for Service from Salesforce and 3 others charge for each person on your team. By use: Lyro AI Agent from Tidio, Botpress, eesel AI, Help Scout AI and 1 other charge for conversations, resolutions or credits, alone or on top of a plan. A monthly plan, with no pricing model stated: Chatling, Chatbase and Hugo from Crisp. Of the 19, 4 sell only through sales or a demo. If a vendor bills per resolution, check how it counts one before you compare it with a price per seat.
Is there a free AI agent for customer service?
Yes, with limits: Chatling, Lyro AI Agent from Tidio, Botpress, Help Scout AI and Zia from Zoho state a free plan. 13 offer a free trial, so you can try one on your own help content first.
What about AI agents that answer the phone?
For phone calls, look at AI receptionists or AI voice agent platforms instead. AI receptionists answer your business line and book appointments (22 listed, 6 working as AI agents). AI voice agent platforms let you build your own phone agent (20 listed, 17 describing themselves as agents). The tools on this page handle chat and email, and some add voice.
What should you check before you turn one on?
- What it may do without asking: answer only, or also change orders, issue refunds or update accounts.
- How it hands a customer to a person, and who gets the conversation.
- Which help content it answers from, and how you correct a wrong answer.
- How usage is billed, and what a month of your volume would cost.
AI agents for customer service, with prices
Tools mainly for this job first, then those with a stated starting price (lowest monthly price first), then the most recently checked. No vendor pays for a place. Only tools that work as AI agents, by name or by what they do. How we order tools.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatlingChatling · Vendor site | From $21 per month, billed annually | Free plan | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| ChatbaseChatbase · Vendor site | From $32 per month, billed annually | Free trial (7 days) | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, Mentions HIPAA | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Lyro AI AgentTidio · Vendor site | From $32.50 per month | Free plan, Free trial (7 days) | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, Mentions HIPAA | Oct 17, 2026 |
| HugoCrisp · Vendor site | From $45 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| BotpressBotpress · Vendor site | From $150 per month, billed annually | Free plan, Free trial | GDPR, Mentions HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 |
| eesel AIeesel · Vendor site | From $299 per month | Free trial | Signs a HIPAA BAA | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Text AI AgentText · Vendor site | From $19 per user per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| eDeskeDesk · Vendor site | From $39 per agent per month, billed annually + $0.99 per outcome (AI Agent) add-on | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Zendesk AI agentsZendesk · Vendor site | From $19 per agent per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Agentforce for ServiceSalesforce · Vendor site | From $550 per user per month, billed annually | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Freddy AI AgentFreshworks · Vendor site | From $19 per agent per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Help Scout AIHelp Scout · Vendor site | From $25 per user per month + $0.75 per resolution (AI Answers) add-on | Free plan, Free trial | SOC 2 Type II, Mentions HIPAA | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Front AIFront · Vendor site | From $25 per seat per month, billed annually + $0.05 per conversation (Autopilot) add-on | Free trial (14 days) | SOC 2 Type II | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Kustomer ConciergeKustomer · Vendor site | Contact sales | Not stated | SOC 2 (type not stated), ISO 27001, GDPR, Mentions HIPAA | Oct 17, 2026 |
| ForethoughtForethought · Vendor site | Contact sales | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Customer AgentKlaviyo · Vendor site | Prices published, but not the plan with the AI | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| ZiaZoho · Vendor site | Prices published, but not the plan with the AI | Free plan, Free trial (15 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Zoom Virtual AgentZoom · Vendor site | Contact sales | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| VoiceflowVoiceflow · Vendor site | Contact sales | Free trial | ISO 27001, GDPR, Mentions HIPAA | Oct 17, 2026 |