Best AI for accountants, by job
To start with AI for accountants, try ReceiptsAI for bookkeeping, Puzzle for accounting software, SparkReceipt for invoice processing and CPA Pilot for tax preparation.
Which AI bookkeeping tool should you start with?
Start with ReceiptsAI, from $12 per month, billed annually: the lowest flat monthly price of the 20 AI bookkeeping tools compared. Suits a freelancer who wants receipts handled for very little: the free plan needs no credit card, and Starter is $12 a month, billed $144 annually. Accountants can run each client's books separately from one dashboard. The catch: no accounting software integration is stated, though records can be exported. Dext integrates with QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage and Zoho, at $25.21 a month, billed $302.50 annually, with a 14-day free trial.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiptsAIReceiptsAI · Vendor site | From $12 per month, billed annually | Free plan | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| DextDext · Vendor site | From $25.21 per month, billed annually | Free trial (14 days) | ISO 27001, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| BooksGPTBooksGPT · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
Which accounting software has AI built in?
Puzzle is the one to try first, from $30 per month: no flat plan among the 14 AI accounting tools costs less. If you are setting up your first books and are happy to check the work yourself, Puzzle's Starter plan is $30 a month with the AI suite included and a 14-day free trial. The catch: Starter comes with 25 lifetime AI credits, and a bookkeeper who closes your books each month comes through the optional accounting services. Digits offers a 30-day free trial, then Essentials at $65 a month.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PuzzlePuzzle · Vendor site | From $30 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Karbon AIKarbon · Vendor site | From $59 per user per month, billed annually | Not stated | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Ramp Accounting AutomationRamp · Vendor site | From $15 per user per month | Free plan, Free trial (30 days) | SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS | Oct 17, 2026 |
What AI reads your bills and receipts?
Try SparkReceipt first, from $5.75 per month, billed annually: the cheapest flat plan of the 21 AI invoice processing tools listed. If you're self-employed and want receipts sorted for very little, Pro is $5.75 a month billed annually ($69.00 a year), or $6.90 billed monthly. It also links to Zapier and Make. The catch: no free plan is stated, and the free trial lasts 7 days. ReceiptsAI has a free plan, and its Starter plan is $12 a month, billed $144 annually.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SparkReceiptSparkReceipt · Vendor site | From $5.75 per month, billed annually | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| ReceiptsAIReceiptsAI · Vendor site | From $12 per month, billed annually | Free plan | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| MelioMelio · Vendor site | From $20 per month, billed annually | Free plan, Free trial (90 days) | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 | Oct 17, 2026 |
Which AI tool helps with tax prep?
Start with CPA Pilot, from $29 per month: the lowest flat monthly price of the 17 AI tax tools compared. If you are a solo preparer who wants AI help without paying per seat, CPA Pilot bills by messages, and every plan includes every workflow. The 7-day free trial comes with 20 messages. The catch: CPA Pilot 20, at $29 a month, includes 20 AI messages, which tax season can use up fast. For research alone, Bizora's Essential plan is $29.99 a month.
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CPA PilotCPA Pilot · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| BizoraBizora · Vendor site | From $29.99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Hive Tax AIHive Tax · Vendor site | From $79 per month | Free trial (5 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
What is the best AI for accountants?
Plainscout starts each job with the tool that has the lowest flat monthly price in its list: ReceiptsAI for bookkeeping ($12 a month, billed annually), Puzzle for accounting software ($30 a month), SparkReceipt for invoice processing ($5.75 a month, billed annually) and CPA Pilot for tax preparation ($29 a month). No vendor pays for a place, and the right one still depends on your job.
How were these tools picked?
In each job, the pick is the tool with the lowest flat monthly price in that job's full list (a free plan, or a tool made mainly for the job, when none states one). Its table adds the next 2 in the list's order: tools mainly for this job first, then those with a stated starting price (lowest monthly price first), then the most recently checked. No vendor pays for a place. How we order tools.