Hive Tax AI pricing and alternatives
Hive Tax AI starts at $79 per month, billed monthly (Sole Practitioners plan). There's a 5-day free trial.
What does Hive Tax AI do?
Hive Tax AI provides AI tax research and tax planning tools for CPA firms and tax professionals. The research assistant answers tax questions with citations to federal and state sources and drafts tax memos. The planning assistant analyzes tax returns and builds client tax plans from more than 100 tax strategies.
What else should you know about Hive Tax AI?
Hive Tax says Hive Tax AI serves accounting and bookkeeping. Hive Tax doesn't state any security or compliance standard.
| Fact | As stated | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Price | From $79 per month, billed monthly (Sole Practitioners plan). | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Free trial | Yes, 5 days | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Built for | Accounting and bookkeeping | Oct 17, 2026 |
Who is Hive Tax AI for, and what's the catch?
If you are a sole practitioner doing your own research, the Sole Practitioners plan is $79 a month for unlimited tax research, and the 5-day free trial needs no credit card.
The catch: Hive is pitched at tax research and planning, and no return preparation features are stated. CPA Pilot adds return review and client emails, from $29 a month on CPA Pilot 20.
What are the alternatives to Hive Tax AI?
Other AI tax software to compare with Hive Tax AI are CPA Pilot (from $29 per month), Bizora (from $29.99 per month) and TaxPlanIQ (from $397 per month).
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CPA PilotCPA Pilot · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| BizoraBizora · Vendor site | From $29.99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| TaxPlanIQTaxPlanIQ · Vendor site | From $397 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Drake SmartExtractDrake Software · Vendor site | From $299.99 per year | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| InsteadInstead · Vendor site | From $30 per credit, billed annually | Free plan | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |