Expensify SmartScan pricing and alternatives
Expensify's pricing page shows no price for SmartScan. There's a free plan and a 30-day free trial.
What does SmartScan do?
SmartScan is the receipt scanner inside the Expensify app. Snap a photo or forward an email receipt and it reads the merchant, date, total and currency, creates an expense, matches it to card transactions, auto-categorizes it and syncs it to accounting software such as QuickBooks and Xero.
What else should you know about SmartScan?
Expensify lists integrations with QuickBooks and Xero. Expensify doesn't state any security or compliance standard.
| Fact | As stated | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Price | No price on the vendor's pricing page | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Free plan | Yes | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Free trial | Yes, 30 days | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Integrations it names | QuickBooks, Xero | Oct 17, 2026 |
Who is SmartScan for, and what's the catch?
If your staff spend on company cards and paper receipts go missing, SmartScan suits you. The free plan lets anyone scan receipts and track personal expenses, and the paid Collect and Control plans come with a 30-day free trial.
The catch: Expensify's pricing page shows no price for the paid plans, and free functionality is limited. SparkReceipt publishes one: Pro is $5.75 a month, billed annually, with a 7-day free trial.
What are the alternatives to SmartScan?
Other AI invoice processing tools to compare with SmartScan are SparkReceipt (from $5.75 per month, billed annually), ReceiptsAI (from $12 per month, billed annually) and Melio (from $20 per month, billed annually).
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SparkReceiptSparkReceipt · Vendor site | From $5.75 per month, billed annually | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| ReceiptsAIReceiptsAI · Vendor site | From $12 per month, billed annually | Free plan | GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |
| MelioMelio · Vendor site | From $20 per month, billed annually | Free plan, Free trial (90 days) | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Receiptor AIReceiptor · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free trial (14 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| TofuTofu · Vendor site | From $59 per month | Free trial | ISO 27001, GDPR | Oct 17, 2026 |