Drake SmartExtract pricing and alternatives
Drake SmartExtract starts at $299.99 per year (Drake Tax Online plan). Drake Software doesn't state a free plan or trial.
What does Drake SmartExtract do?
Drake SmartExtract is a beta AI tool that reads client tax documents for Drake Tax. It handles W-2s, supported 1099s and Form 1098, extracts key fields and lets the preparer verify them before they populate a return in Drake Tax or Drake Tax Online. It does not prepare or file returns.
What else should you know about Drake SmartExtract?
Drake Software doesn't state any security or compliance standard.
| Fact | As stated | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Price | From $299.99 per year (Drake Tax Online plan). | Oct 17, 2026 |
Who is Drake SmartExtract for, and what's the catch?
If you already prepare returns in Drake and spend tax season keying in forms, SmartExtract is an easy one to try: eligible users get it at no additional cost during the beta.
The catch: it is still in beta, it is offered inside Drake Tax and Drake Tax Online, and Drake Tax Online itself is $299.99 per tax year, with returns bought separately. Intuit ProConnect Tax also has AI data extraction, with individual returns at $109.95 each plus a User Access license.
What are the alternatives to Drake SmartExtract?
Other AI tax software to compare with Drake SmartExtract are CPA Pilot (from $29 per month), Bizora (from $29.99 per month) and Hive Tax AI (from $79 per month).
| Tool | Price as stated | Free plan or trial | Compliance it states | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CPA PilotCPA Pilot · Vendor site | From $29 per month | Free trial (7 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| BizoraBizora · Vendor site | From $29.99 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Hive Tax AIHive Tax · Vendor site | From $79 per month | Free trial (5 days) | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| TaxPlanIQTaxPlanIQ · Vendor site | From $397 per month | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |
| InsteadInstead · Vendor site | From $30 per credit, billed annually | Free plan | Not stated | Oct 17, 2026 |